Sushmita showed me this lovely list that could well be the impetus for another 30-day blog challenge. She found it here and we are going to try and attempt this one… Since the topics are already in place, we might tweak it a bit here and there though… we believe it would be a challenge that’s well worth it… So here goes…

# An intelligent conversation
One that does not usually involve clothes, my weight, what I had for lunch, the rupee-rial exchange rate, marks my son scored or why I don’t need to work because my husband holds a good job (believe me, I get that all the time). I will love it if you talk about spirituality, inspirations, crack intelligent jokes, are passionate about causes and issues, not self-deprecating and treat women with respect. And if you also like Nehru’s ‘Tryst with Destiny’ and had goosebumps during A. R. Rahman’s and Resul Pookutty’s Oscar acceptance speeches (especially the latter’s ‘I come from a country and civilisation that gave the world the word that precedes silence and is followed by more silence. That word is Aum. So I dedicate this award to my country.’), you are my friend for life. Sigh! Intelligent men seem to be such a rarity these days.

# Flowers
Cliched as it may sound, I love to be surprised with flowers. Recently, the only ones I have been receiving are those from PR agencies for New Year. Hint: You do get beautiful flowers in Muscat though they cost a bomb.

# Smile a lot
I love positive people because I’m not the most positive person to be with. I am paranoid to a great degree and even suspecting of people at times. So I like people whose smiles simply light up your day. Because, I’m told that once upon a time, I used to be like that!

# Surprise me
In 2011, my bhaiya in Muscat surprised me on Raksha Bandhan day by turning up to wish me at home. He got the address from the bff and gave me one of the biggest surprises of my life. And with a wide grin, said, I am like this only! That was really cute. My college friends turned up on my 18th birthday with 18 red roses and a cake, all 10 of them! Last year, my friends at work took me out for a surprise birthday lunch. For me, surprises mean being understood, cared for and loved. And no, no, surprises do not mean gifts – all the time, at least! No, it also does not mean certain ‘surprises’ at the office – especially during closing time J

# Be real
No pretences, double standards or hypocrisy. If you are my true friend, you will tell it like it is. I may not like it but I will never grudge you for it. And also never try to make me the person you want me to be. Respect my individuality and the way I am without taking my love and affection for granted. I will also do the same – for I never attempt to change anyone. On second thoughts, maybe only Amrit, and that too I try to do without being too overpowering!

10 thoughts on “Five ways to win my heart…

Leave a Reply

